The Blackboard Manual


Blackboard TEL Guides

Student Preview Mode

You can check what your students have access to and can actually see on your course by using the Student Preview Mode. Any content you have hidden, or set to release by date, grade or group - as well as any empty pages will not be visible with Student Preview mode active. Student Preview Mode also allows you to test Blackboard's interactive tools as a student. This includes taking tests and surveys, enrolling in groups, and testing the grade center.

Change a setting

Activate Student Preview mode

To activate Student Preview mode:

  1. Click the Student Preview mode button Student preview button
  2. You can now access the course as a student Student preview active
  3. Click the Exit Preview button to return to the normal Instructor mode
  4. Leave the Delete preview user and all data option selected if do not need to retain data. Select Keep the preview user and all data if you need to test tools such as the Grade Center, or keep any entries you have made as the test user on blogs, journals or wikis.Delete the preview user